Who is meriwether lewis and william clark?

They are best known for their expedition from the Mississippi river to the west coast and back.

---

Lewis & Clark headed the expedition once the Louisiana Territory was purchased by Thomas Jefferson. They and the Corps of Discovery went from Pittsburgh to St. Louis via the Ohio River. They then went up the Missouri River into the Dakotas & eventually into Washington State.