What is the average age that a baby starts talking?

First, vowel-like sounds at birth move to coos and goos at 2 to 3 months. Babbling starts around 4 months. First babbles often include "p," "b," and "m" sounds, which are produced by simply putting the lips together. Toward the end of your baby's first year, the babbling will shift into speech.