How does a gramophone work?

In a gramophone, a record is turned by a spring-driven motor. As the record turns, the grooves make the needle vibrate back and forth. These vibrations are transmitted to the diaphragm, which itself vibrates, creating sound. That sound is then channeled out of the horn into the room.