What is the difference between sweet potato and squash?

For 100 gram servings of both, squash has 53% less calories than sweet potato, potato has 86 calories and squash has 40 calories. For protein, sweet potato has 1.6 grams of protein, squash has 0.9 grams. Dietary fiber, fats, and sugars are similar.