Is it okay to put coffee grounds down the sink?

Yes that's fine. You can through them in the garden as compost too.

---

Coffee grounds don't break down in water, in fact they usually clump together. Overtime coffee grounds build up and can get packed together in the drain line causing a clog. If you don't want to throw the coffee grounds in the trash, consider putting them outside in your garden as fertilizer.