Why do dogs like to chew on things?

Dogs like to explore and since they don't have hands they explore with their mouths. This can lead to destructive chewing if the dog doesn't have appropriate toys to chew. Many dogs get anxious when left alone and stress causes them to chew things like slippers remotes the carpet and even the walls.