When do puppies start barking?

7 to 16 weeks old: Puppies' vocalizations usually begin around 2 to 3 weeks of age, may be grunts and whines: these will develop into yips and barks at 7 to 8 weeks old; although some dogs wait until closer to 16 weeks to start barking.