What is the meaning of invictus?

Invictus means unconquerable or undefeated in Latin. The poem Invictus was written in 1875 by William Ernest Henley. Nelson Mandela, anti-apartheid leader jailed 27 years for his activism &in 1994 became President of South Africa, regularly recited Invictus during his imprisonment. WorldView.Unc.edu