What is the origin of potato chips?

A man walked into a popular fry shop and rejected all of the fries, because he said they were too thick. Eventually the chef got mad and cut his fries into very thin slices, and forced him to eat with his hands, which was considered inappropriate at the time. The man loved them and they got popular