Who is ellis island named after?

Ellis Island formerly the site of a fort, that from 1892 until 1943 served as an entry point for immigrants to the US, and later (until 1954) as a detention center for people awaiting deportation. The island is named after Samuel Ellis, a Manhattan merchant who owned it in the 1770s.