What is the point of cashmere?

Cashmere or Kasimir is a regional area in Northern India and Eastern Pakistan, known for producing a type of wool from Kasimir goats, desired for its softness, durability, and insulating abilities. The wool material assumed the regional name from whence it came. It is highly valued.