Why are crickets black?

Not all crickets are black, there are brown crickets also called House crickets. Those are the crickets you buy at the Pet Store for pets to eat. actually Brown cricketes are a very good food in Asia. High protein and kosher. Grasshoppers and crickets are considered Kosher food.