What's the size of a king size blanket?

A king-size mattress is 76 inches wide and 80 inches long, so any comforter or blanket purchased to top the bed should be at least a few inches wider and longer. King-size comforter dimensions vary from one brand and style to the next, and there is no exact measurement considered to be standard.