Are the polar ice caps melting?

Due to recent global warming, the answer is yes. Some consider it to be at an alarming rate. Under a normal cycle, polar ice melts in the summer and refreezes and expands in the winter. Currently, more ice is melting in the summer than is re-freezing in the winter.