What does a.m. and time mean?

The letters "A., M." stand for the latin, anno meridian, which means "before the middle." Since noon is the middle of the day, the time before noon, or morning, is labeled "a. m.", and the time between noon and midnight "p., m.", for the latin, post meridian.