What does dress to impress mean?

Dress to impress means to wear clothing that is both fashionable and appropriate for the activity you are engaging in. For example if you are going for an interview to join a legal firm, you would dress in executive clothing (probably a suit and tie) that looks expensive, sharp and polished.