What does n. a. t. e. r. i. a. l. spell?

M-A-T-E-R-I-A-L spells "material," which can refer to the substance that something is made from, most often cloth or fabric. As an adjective, it can describe something as either pertaining to the physical world, or as essential and relevant to a situation.