What is cheap grass?

Sheep fescue, Festuca ovina, is a cool-season bunchgrass often lumped together in the same group with hard fescue, creeping red fescue and chewings fescue. These fescues are referred to as “fine” fescue and all share similar traits: fine textures, shade tolerance and low, slow growth habits.