Is the movie gifted based on a true story?

No. Gifted is a 2017 movie written by Tom Flynn and directed by Marc Webb. Gifted is not based on a true story or a book. Children like the fictional 7 year old Mary have made extraordinary academic progress at a young age, and their parents also have had to figure out the best path for them.