Why is utah called the beehive state?

Utah's early pioneers had few material resources at their disposal and therefore had to rely on their own "industry" to survive. Utahns relate the beehive symbol to industry and the pioneer virtues of thrift and perseverance. "Industry" officially became the Utah's State Motto on March 4, 1959.