How many potatoes are in five pounds?

Eighteen

---

As potatoes vary in size, it's hard to estimate how many potatoes are in 5 pounds. An average sized potato that fits comfortably in the palm of your hand, is about 1/2 lb, but a large baker can weigh up to a pound. Waxy style new potatoes are smaller than bakers, and are often less than 1/3 lb each