What was hawaii before it became a state?

Until 1894, Hawaii was ruled by kings and queens. The Republic of Hawaii was established on July 4th, 1894. President William McKinley annexed Hawaii as a United States territory in 1898 and Hawaii became a state in 1959.

---

Hawaii was a US territory (like Guam and Puerto Rico are today) before it became a state. Before that, it was a kingdom. Until 1894, Hawaii was ruled by kings and queens. Hawaii was united under a single kingdom for 80 years, from the reign of King Kamehameha to Queen Lili'oukalani.