Why do they drink milk after the indy five hundred?

Three-time Indy 500 winner Louis Meyer regularly drank buttermilk to refresh himself on a hot day and happened to drink some in Victory Lane as after winning the 1936 race. An executive with what was then the Milk Foundation vowed to make sure it would be repeated in coming years.