What's the difference between a typhoon and a cyclone?

The only difference between a hurricane, a cyclone, and a typhoon is the location where the storm occurs. In the Northwest Pacific it is called a “typhoon,” and “cyclones” occur in the South Pacific and Indian Ocean.