Is three fourths a cup more than half a cup?

Yes, three-fourths of a cup is in fact more than one half a cup. It is greater by one half of a half of a cup, which is a quarter of a cup.

---

Yes. Since three fourths and half are both fractions, giving them the same denominator makes this comparison easier. One half is the same as two fourths. Of course, three fourths is more than two fourths, so three fourths is more than one half.