Where are the captain commander riker?

In regards to the series Star Trek: TNG, William Thomas Riker is a commander. Jean Luc Picard is the captain of the flagship Enterprise and Riker is his number one. Riker does become a captain in the future and in alternate universes. Riker also was offered the position but refused.