What is grapple g. r. a. u. p. e. l.?

Graupel, spelled G-R-A-U-P-E-L, is a form of precipitation somewhere between snow and hail. It's sometimes described as "granular snow pellets" or "soft hail," both of which are alternate names for it, alongside "corn snow" or "hominy snow."