Which travels faster sound or light?

Light travel much faster than sound. Speed of light in a vacuum is 300 million meters per second, while speed of sound in air is about 340 meters per second. This causes for example a fairly known effect where sound of the thunder is reaching the observer several seconds after the lightning.