Where do dragonflies come from?

Dragonflies are born from eggs that have been laid in ponds or marshes. After hatching, the dragonfly can remain a nymph (dragonfly larva) for multiple years, before eventually leaving the water and completing it's metamorphosis into a dragonfly.