Where did the term sweet sixteen come from?

The origins of a Sweet Sixteen are definitely in the debutante ball. With its origins in a French word (debuter: to begin) and English tradition, the debut has captured the fancy of modern-day America, even managing to survive cynicism, feminism and the evolution of the contemporary teenager.