Is a budgie a parakeet?

YES. The budgerigar is a long-tailed, seed-eating parrot usually nicknamed the budgie, or in American English, the parakeet. Budgies are the only species in the genus Melopsittacus. ... Budgies are nomadic flock parakeets that have been bred in captivity since the 19th century.