How does bubble gum work?

Bubble gum is the assembly of Gum Arabic (blocks or chunks) with other ingredients, usually; powdered sugar, corn syrup, citric acid, glycerin, food coloring, and concentrated flavoring. Gum Arabic is generated from tree sap, which is known to have chewy, long lasting properties.