Do birds ever get hit by lightning?

Birds, in flight, do not get struck by lightning, unless by most rare accident. However, birds roosting on trees, telephone poles, utility lines, and other tall objects, can be killed, if a lightning bolt strikes the object they are on. It is a rare event, but is certainly possible.