When was electricity introduced in the united states?

In 1879, the American inventor Thomas Edison was finally able to produce a reliable, long-lasting electric light bulb in his laboratory. By the end of the 1880's, small electrical stations based on Edison's designs were in a number of U.S. cities. But each station was able to power only a few blocks