What was the three fifths rule?

Relates to the three-fifths compromise reached by delegates at the 1787 Constitutional Convention. Under the compromise, each enslaved American would be counted as three-fifths of a person for taxation and representation purposes. The effect was to give the Southern States more electoral power.