What side of the abdomen is the appendix on?

The appendix is on the right side of the abdomen. A dull pain near the navel or the upper or lower abdomen that becomes sharp as it moves to the lower right abdomen is usually the first sign of the appendicitis, but it occurs in less than half of appendicitis cases.