Why are candy canes called candy canes?

Legend has it that in 1670, the cane shaped candy became historical when a choirmaster at the Cologne Cathedral in Germany bent the sugar-sticks into canes to appear as shepherd's hooks. The ''j'' shape of the candy cane is said to represent the name of Jesus.