What is the difference between a trumpet and a coronet?

The cornet also has a conical shaped bore (the main bit leading up to the bell where the sound comes out) whereas the trumpet has a cylindrical shaped bore. The two instruments also have different mouthpieces.

---

The cornet also has a conical shaped bore (the main bit leading up to the bell where the sound comes out) whereas the trumpet has a cylindrical shaped bore. The two instruments also have different mouthpieces, although it is harder to notice this difference merely by looking at the two instruments.