What does m. m. stand for?

The letters m m indicate millimeters. If you're asking about the candy company, M&M stood for “Mars & Murrie,” the last names of the two founders of the original company. In fiber-optics, m m indicates multi-mode and it can be used to represent Messieurs in French.