How is a coconut a fruit?

The fruit of a coconut tree is a drupe, a type of fruit consisting of an outer fleshy part surrounded by a single shelled seed. The outer fleshy part of most edible drupes is eaten, such as with cherries, olives, and peaches. However, with coconuts, the interior of the seed is eaten.