What is a ghost crab?

Ghost crabs are semiterrestrial crabs of the subfamily Ocypodinae. They are common shore crabs in tropical and subtropical regions throughout the world, inhabiting deep burrows in the intertidal zone. The name "ghost crab" derives from their nocturnality and their generally pale coloration.