How do onions make your eyes water?

Onions produce the chemical irritant known as syn-propanethial-S-oxide. It stimulates the eyes' lachrymal glands so they release tears.

---

When you cut onions, they produce a chemical irritant known as syn-propanethial-S-oxide. It stimulates our eyes lachrymal glands which then produce tears.