Why do people put pickles on the christmas tree?

The Christmas pickle is traditionally a decoration in the shape of a pickle hidden on a Christmas tree, with the finder receiving either a reward or good fortune for the following year. There are a number of different origin stories attributed to the tradition, including an origination in Germany.