Why do farts smell so bad?

Farts contain sulfur dioxide, a very smelly chemical that gives a fart its smell.

---

The gases in a fart are composed of 99.2% of odorless gases and minuscule amounts of ammonia, hydrogen sulfide and excrement (these total 0.8% of a fart's composition). However, our nose is extremely sensitive to these componets: we can smell them at 1 part per 100 million parts of air.