What is four score in twenty years?

A score is an old term for 20. "Four score and twenty years" is another way of saying one hundred years, or a century. The actual opening line of Lincoln's Gettysburg Address is "Four score and seven years ago, our forefathers brought forth upon this continent a new nation..."

---

A score is twenty years. Abraham Lincoln famously used this term in the Gettysburg Address when he said "four score and 7 years ago", or 87 years.