Why is it bad luck to bring bananas on a boat?

Bananas were a source of bad luck for ships carrying other types of fruits. Bananas give off ethylene gas, which can cause other fruits to ripen and spoil more quickly than they would otherwise. This unintended result might be a source of concern for ships looking to turn a profit on fresh fruits.