What's the definition of richard?

The Germanic first or given name Richard derives from the old Germanic words "ric" meaning ruler, leader and king and "hard" meaning strong, brave and hardy). it therefore means "strong in rule". Nicknames include "Richy", "Dick", "Dickon", "Dickie","Rich", "Richie", "Rick", "Rico", "Ricky"