What kind of material is modal?

Modal is a type of rayon commonly used in consumer textiles, and is a semi-synthetic fabric, made from beech tree pulp. Modal is used primarily for clothing, and household items, like bed sheets and towels. Modal fabric is a naturally soft, smooth, bio-based fabric made from plant pulp.