What is the highest number in history?

There are an estimated 200 billion trillion stars in the universe. A googol is expressed as one followed by 100 zeros. A googolplex is expressed as a googol to the power of a googol, a number so large that astronomer Carl Sagan stated that there would not be enough space in the universe to write it.