When was the first doughnut?

The earliest origins to the modern doughnuts are traced back to Dutch settlers who brought them to early New York. These doughnuts closely resembled later ones but did not yet have their current ring shape. Hanson Gregory, an American, claimed to have invented the ring-shaped doughnut in 1847